

## STATE OF MISSISSIPPI OFFICE OF THE STATE AUDITOR SHAD WHITE STATE AUDITOR

### OSA Circular No. 9 (originally issued November 5, 1990)

# PRESCRIBED PROCEDURES COLLECTION AND SETTLEMENT OF PENALTIES UNDER MISSISSIPPI CODE SECTION 27-19-63 (when municipal law enforcement officer issues ticket)

- 1. A municipal law enforcement officer may issue a ticket if a Mississippi resident displays an out-of-state license tag on his or her motor vehicle or displays a license tag or privilege license decal on an inappropriate motor vehicle. The municipal law enforcement officer should inform the offender of the \$250 penalty.
- 2. The municipal law enforcement officer shall transmit a copy of the ticket to the tax collector in the county in which the offender resides.
- 3. The county tax collector shall collect the \$250 penalty and any other applicable penalties when the offender pays the privilege license tax.
- 4. The county tax collector shall send the \$250 penalty and any other applicable penalties to the chancery clerk of the county where the offender resides. These amounts are part of the monthly settlement. The county tax collector must identify the law enforcement officer (constable, sheriff or municipal police officer) that issued the applicable ticket.
- 5. If a municipal law enforcement officer issued the ticket, then the chancery clerk shall deposit one-half  $(\frac{1}{2})$  of the \$250 penalty and one-half  $(\frac{1}{2})$  of any delinquent penalties on the privilege license tax into the county road fund. The other one-half  $(\frac{1}{2})$  of the applicable penalties shall be sent to the city clerk in the municipality of the law enforcement officer.

#### OSA Circular No. 9 (continued)

6. When the city clerk receives the municipality's portion of the applicable penalties, the clerk shall deposit the penalties into a special fund for the police department which may be used for any lawful purpose. The law enforcement officer is not personally entitled to any of the penalties.

### SUMMARY OF APPLICABLE LAWS

Section 7-7-211(b) of the Mississippi Code gives the State Auditor's Office the authority to prescribe, for all public offices, systems of reporting financial facts in conformity with legal requirements.

Section 27-19-63 of the Mississippi Code states that a \$250 penalty shall be assessed against any person who is liable for the motor vehicle privilege license tax and who (1) displays an out-of- state license tag on the vehicle or (2) displays a license tag or privilege license decal on the motor vehicle which was issued for another vehicle. It also states that "penalties shall be assessed on the privilege license tax at the rate of five percent (5%) for the first fifteen (15) days of delinquency, or part thereof, and five percent (5%) for each additional thirty–day period of delinquency, or part thereof, not to exceed a maximum penalty of twenty-five percent (25%)."

Section 27-19-127 of the Mississippi Code states that a constable shall personally be entitled to one-half ( $\frac{1}{2}$ ) of the \$250 penalty and one-half ( $\frac{1}{2}$ ) of the penalty assessed on delinquent privilege license taxes if the constable enforced the collection. If a sheriff or a municipal law enforcement officer enforces the collection then one-half ( $\frac{1}{2}$ ) of the \$250 penalty and one-half ( $\frac{1}{2}$ ) of the penalty assessed on delinquent privilege license taxes "shall be paid into a special fund of the county or municipality, as the case may be, and may be appropriated and expended by the governing authorities of the county or municipality for any lawful purpose." This section also states that all delinquent privilege taxes and penalties imposed and collected under its provisions shall be handled and disposed of in the same manner as the regular taxes.